Thames Motor Yacht Club (TMYC), one of the best located boating clubs on the River Thames, is situated amongst picturesque grounds with its own club-house, riverside bar and moorings at Hampton Court.
From here the TMYC run Club cruises up-river, down-river, coastal, and across the channel,actively holding many social and boating events, including boat handling tuition and RYA courses.
Founded in 1930 as the Thames Motor Cruising Club it now has numerous members and is renowned for being a family and friendly club.
Children of members are most welcome, in fact, many of today’s members themselves first introduced to the Club through their parents.
The TMYC was a founder member of the now over 60 strong Association of Thames Yacht Clubs (ATYC) and is affiliated to the Royal Yachting Association. The TMYC has strong representation on both of these bodies.
Thames Motor Yacht Club’s primary objectives are the encouragement and development of motor boating.
This includes the provision of:
- a social centre for members,
- moorings for craft,
- facilities for information, instruction, education
and advice upon all matters pertaining to the sport in general.
Proud to fly ‘The Blue’
The Thames Motor Yacht Club is honoured to have been given the right to fly its own defaced blue ensign, a privilege bestowed on the Club in 1951 by The Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty. This special year in the Club”s history appropriately marked its “coming of age”.
Members of the Club who comply with certain preconditions are extended the privilege to fly “The Blue” and the TMYC remains the only club on the non-tidal Thames with this honour.