During the year there are boat handling competitions – tidal and non-tidal, including competitions for children and novices as well as navigation tests at sea and in sheltered waters. The TMYC has a long tradition of entering competent crews for other organised events both here, and abroad.

Boat Handling Event Guide

TMYC have assisted the ATYC in producing An Event Guide to encourage competitors, judges and organisers to take part and enjoy competitions. It contains a detailed description of typical tests, together withs hints for competitors, judges and competition organisers, and a Glossary of Terms. The guide can be found on the ATYC web site

A navigational competition in sheltered waters. Inaugurated in 1934, is a fixed throttle, competition where craft nominate their own speed, starting when they wish and fix their throttles with the objective of crossing the finishing line as near as possible to a declared time.
Awarded to the first 3 places:
1. Elise Watkins Perpetuity Trophy – Presented in 1950 by C.C. Watkins, Commodore of the Club 1945
2. Ryeland Cup – Presented in 1953 by Lt.Comdr. H.M. Pinnell RNVR
3. Ryeland Cup.

The senior navigation competition takes place seaward off the Nore, (usually in the Thames
Estuary, but in 2000 took place off Ostend) combining navigational skills with
a fixed throttle reliability trial. The first trophy was presented in
Awarded to the first 3 places:
1. Deepwater Cup, Presented in 1949 by J.C. Dudgeon, Commodore of the Club
2. Eight Bells Cup, Presented in 1964 by R. Felmingham, Commodore of the Club
3. Lady Warmond Cup, Presented in 1965 by T. Boote, Commodore of the Club

Devised in 1961, to find those who best know the maximum speed of their craft. Open to all club members, the winner is who comes closest to meeting their declared top speed with throttles wide open.
Awarded to the first 3 places:
1. Braggart’s Cup, Presented by P.F. Pooley, Commodore of the Club 1960
2. Braggart’s Cup, Presented by P.F. Pooley
3. Levison Trophy, Presented in 1972 by C. Levison

North Sea
Perpetual trophy first presented in 1954 by the North Sea Yacht Club, Ostend, for the best log of a foreign cruise or passage.

Upper Thames Challenge Cup
First presented in 1961 for the best up-river log.
Presented in 1962 by T. Dilks, Commodore of the Club 1961, at the Opening of Season Function

A boat handling exercise for the less experienced, particularly for new club members, on the tidal Thames below Teddington Lock. This competition started in 1969.
Awarded to the first 2 places:
Tideway Trophy, Presented in 1980 by Lt.-Comdr. Charles Barber, MBE, RNVR
Billet Doux Cup, Presented by Leonard and Bodil Cowling 1980

Senior Watermanship
For experienced crews, it is the premier watermanship competition of the club. A boat-handling exercise held at Club headquarters.
Originated in 1952 as just the Watermanship, and renamed to Senior Watermanship in 1974.
Awards for the first 3 places and for best attempt by new entrant:
1. The Taras Cup, Presented in 1973 by L. Westbrook, Commodore of the Club 1971
2. The Kandora Salver, Presented by E. Hartwell, Commodore of the Club 1969
3. Poggiare Salver, Presented by Bob and Tricia Smith, Commodore 1979
– Best first-time entrant: Holmes Triers Cup, Presented in 1977 by R. Holmes, Assistant Hon. Secretary
Also there is the Visitors’ Cup (Formerly the Lionel Ward Cup), Presented by L. Ward, Commodore of the Club 1938

Family Watermanship
Simple and light-hearted competitions first run in 1974. Held at Club headquarters, the tests are devised to improve efficiency of crew in simple exercises and emergency manoeuvres that they may not always undertake in day-to-day boating. As the title suggests, the constraint is that an entire crew is from one family.
The award for first 3 places are:
1. Barbarina K Trophy. Presented by Michael Shefras 1974
2. Bella Linda Cup. Presented by L.H. Brooks 1975
3. Zebulin Award. Presented by G. Latter 1979

Couples Cup
As for the Family Watermanship, but for couples only, i.e. skipper and one crew.
Awarded to the first 2 places:
1. Jolly Rotter Cup, Presented by Adrienne and Ivor Arbiter, Commodore 1984
2. President’s Cup, Presented in 1984 by J.R. Pearce, OBE, President

Junior Watermanship
A boat handling competition for the junior members of the Club, first held in 1953, held at club headquarters.
The awards are:
– Bert Ryeland Club Cup – Presented by A.E. Ryeland, Commodore of the Club 1940,1941 and 1951)
– Wilby Ondara Trophy, Donated by Mel Wilby in 1996 and awarded to the highest placed TMYC member

Jubilee Cup
A single-handed competition first held in 1980, the Club’s Golden Jubilee Year. Introduced to test the ability of skippers to handle their craft without assistance.
Awarded to the first 2 places:
1. Royal Sabine Cup, Presented in 1980 by Dr. Mark Warner
2. Silver Otter Award, Presented by Harry Brown in 1981

Veteran’s Cup
A single-handed competition for gentlemen aged 60 and over, and ladies over 49.
Cups are awarded to the first 2 places:
1. Corona Mia Trophy, Presented by Maria Quinn
2. Phinola Cup, Presented by Phil Pennicott